The Power of (No) Makeup: No Makeup for a Year

no makeup for a year

Image credit: Beyoncé

What are your walls made of?

I I’ve worn and loved a cat eye liner, pretty much without fail, since age 17. When I knew I was heading into a task that seemed humongous, I put on a full face of makeup, drawing strength, courage, and comfort from my “war paint.”

Makeup and I have gone through a lot of things together. But I’ve been realizing over the past year that I put too much stock in it. I need to take a break from it this year.

When I’ve had a bad day, am nervous, have a bout of self-doubt, feel unprepared, lonely, sad, bored, or frustrated, I turn to makeup to get me through.

Over the past year, I’ve been working on my faith in God, and on becoming a better Christian. I feel that makeup has been  something in my life that has been getting in the way of that. I should turn to God when I feel that I am missing something, not a bag full of pretty things. My relationships with both God and makeup need to change.

Since April 1, 2016 I have worn no makeup (the irony of this date does not escape me). I’ve caught myself looking up mascara or wishing I could have every colour in one of my favourite Youtuber’s latest lipstick haul  and realizing, with sadness, that I won’t be able to wear any of that until a whole year has passed (& why is Pinterest suddenly sending me makeup boards?)

As far as my relationship with God goes, I’ve been seeing that love is not earned through a pretty face, good behaviour, great grades, or even kindness. It’s given (and accepted) freely. Period.

I don’t think that a bare, makeup-less face will be a magic bullet for my faith, but is it progress? Yes. It’s one small step towards trusting God more and one guard I’m learning to let down.

Please let me know in the comments: what have you let go or what have you been feeling you should let go?

–C.

2 thoughts on “The Power of (No) Makeup: No Makeup for a Year

Leave a Reply

